Reading Roundups

Summer Reading List 2017

IMG_2519

Now that it’s officially summer, I can finally share my Summer Reading List! Like my Spring Reading List, this is my attempt at corralling my incredibly extensive summer reading wish list into a more manageable and realistic list. My full list for this summer actually has 46 books on it, but since I do have to spend the majority of my time doing pesky things like working, I doubt I’ll get through all 46.  Here are the top 5 I hope to get to this summer! What are you reading this summer?

 

29740478

1. This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel

Anne Bogel has been recommending this book on her podcast, What Should I Read Next, and her blog, Modern Mrs. Darcy, (both of which I love) for months and I can’t wait to finally read it! Anne insists that we should not read the flap copy, but instead just dive right in. I do know the basic premise of the book already, but for anyone who doesn’t, try being surprised!

 

30422489

2. The Lost Book of the Grail by Charlie Lovett

I recently read my first Charlie Lovett book, First Impressions, and loved it so I am excited to try his newest release! I’m a sucker for a book about books, and this one promises to be an adventure, which sounds like a perfect summer read!

 

31625062

3. A Bridge Across the Ocean, by Susan Meissner

For some strange reason, my library system does not have this book at all! It’s like a regular, popular new book and it is nowhere to be found in my city’s public library system. Fortunately, I was able to order it from another library system and will be starting it soon. I’m also a sucker for historical fiction, most especially if the cover features a woman in a dress, so this one had me at the cover alone.

 

32930819

4. The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

I’ve heard great things about this book, though the science fiction element makes me a little skeptical. But I’m on board for time travelers and Jane Austen, so I’m willing to give it a try!

 

32051912

5. The Alice Network by Kate Quinn

I added this book to my summer list as soon as I read that it was about female spies! I’m sure that it’s nothing like this, but I might secretly be hoping for a WWI Sydney Bristow with this one. You never know!

 

Bonus Pick:

33151805

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

I feel a little out of the loop not having read this one yet. I didn’t love Girl on the Train, but I’m glad I read it, if only to be able to talk about it with everyone else who read it. I’ve heard from people who didn’t like Girl on the Train that they were pleasantly surprised by how much they like Into The Water, so I’m willing to give it a try! This is my bonus pick for the season only because I’m WAY down the long, long list for it at the library so I’m not even sure I’ll have a chance to read it this summer.

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

