On Our Nightstands

On Our Nightstands #19

IMG_2436

Those lazy, leisurely summer days spent relaxing and reading in the sun seem to be nothing but a fantasy for Book Club Sunday, whose members have all found themselves extra busy lately. We did manage to squeeze in some reading and have begun to plan a Book Club outing to see the new movie version of My Cousin Rachel, which was our reading selection in July 2014. Read on to see what some of us have been reading this week. Happy Reading!

 

This week I’m reading Dreamland Burning, by Jennifer Latham. I originally picked it up for my YA book research for work and am so glad I did because I’m really enjoying it so far! It’s a book that follows two interconnected storylines that jump back and forth in time and I’m always a sucker for that. I can’t wait to see how the stories unfold and how the two timelines end up intertwining.

I’m also still listening to The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown and narrated by Edward Herrmann. It’s great and as I’m getting to the end I look forward to having long drives so I can keep listening!

~Sarah

 

I started reading Shylock is My Name by Howard Jacobson, which is the second book in the Hogarth Shakespeare series, where bestselling authors retell Shakespearean plays in modern times. This is a modern retelling of The Merchant of Venice and I can’t even sort of tell you what it’s about. Normally I feel like the intelligent, well-read, highly educated person who is capable of comprehending literature that I am, but I am three chapters into this book and I cannot follow it at all. I’m fairly convinced all the paragraphs in this book are in the wrong order on purpose and it’s some sort of intentional artistic decision where the point is that it’s impossible to understand. I’m on the verge of abandoning it for Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire instead.

~Emily

 

I’m still reading In the Woods by Tana French! I’m getting close to the end so I am emotionally preparing myself. I can’t wait to start The Dry by Jane Harper next!

~Andrea

 

I finished The Dry – loved it! Really wished it was about a couple hundred pages longer… and I can’t wait until the next book is out in February, ahh!

I’m making progress on Crocodile on the Sandbank (I promise it’s really good! Just spent all my time on The Dry!) and I’ve started The Wife, The Maid, and the Mistress.

~Danielle

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

