On Our Nightstands

On Our Nightstands #17

Summer is almost here and Book Club Sunday is gearing up for a season full of reading! There’s something so exciting about summer reading displays at bookstores and libraries, summer reading lists, and the idea of long, lazy days spent enjoying a good book. Read on to find out how some members of Book Club Sunday are getting a jump on their summer reading! (Spoiler alert: looks like The Dry might soon have a spot on all of our nightstands!)

IMG_2387

This week I finished listening to Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express. Dan Stevens (or Matthew Crawley, as I prefer to think of him) is the narrator and I highly recommend listening to this one because he does such a fantastic job with all of the characters. I’m eagerly anticipating the new movie version out this fall! I just started listening to What I Saw and How I Lied by Judy Blundell, but I’m not far enough in to have an opinion yet.

I’m also reading A Certain Age by Beatriz Williams, who is a popular choice among Book Club Sunday members (at least the ones who live in my apartment). It’s written from two different perspectives and I’m interested to see how the stories weave together.

~Sarah

 

I’m reading The Dry by Jane Harper on the recommendation of one of the #momsofbookclubsunday. IT’S SO GOOD, YOU GUYS. EVERYONE READ IT. It’s the first in a new detective series, set in a super hot – and dry – Australian summer, so it’s ideal for this time of year. I don’t really want to give away any plot details, but it will suck you in from the very beginning and keep you up reading past your bedtime needing to know more.

~Emily

 

I super miss reading! But I haven’t found my reading groove yet with a newborn 😦 I am determined to get some summer reading in, though, because I am dying to get my hands on several must-reads!

I read a few pages of Crocodile on The Sandbank (started it last month) today! Woohoo!

~Danielle

 

I’m still re-reading In the Woods by Tana French for my Book Club Sunday project! French’s writing is so beautiful; even knowing how it ends, I am as engrossed with the story and characters as when I first read it. 💔💔💔

I just received The Dry by Jane Harper, which you can all see was highly recommended by Emily above, so I am excited to start that as well!

~Andrea

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

