On Our Nightstands

On Our Nightstands #16

There has been lots of excitement going on with Book Club Sunday the last couple of weeks! Now that we’re all back in the swing of things, we’re all making some headway with our Spring reading lists! This week, we have a heavy dose of mystery with some Jane Austen sprinkled in. Read on to find out what *some* of us have been reading lately and here’s to a lovely, sunny weekend full of books!

IMG_2320

 

This week I finished the second in Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache series, A Fatal Grace. So far I am not as obsessed with this series as I know many people are, but I’m still determined to give it a few more tries. This one planted some seeds of an overarching storyline and I’m interested to see where it goes.

I just started Mrs. Sherlock Holmes: The True Story of New York City’s Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case That Captivated a Nation by Brad Ricca. Despite its too long title, I am enjoying it so far! I love old-fashioned mysteries, especially those with female heroines and the fact that this one is true makes it even more fun.

I’m also listening to First Impressions: A Novel of Old Books, Unexpected Love, and Jane Austen. I really love this one! The narrator is wonderful ( I think she also narrates the Flavia De Luce series) and I like that it goes back and forth between the present day storyline, about a young woman uncovering the secrets of her beloved uncle’s book collection, and the past about a young Jane Austen. I highly recommend it!

~Sarah

 

I’ve also been caught up in baby excitement 🙂 but I did read a few chapters of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time… victory!! I read it years ago… (11 years… is that possible?!?) so I decided to re-read it. I enjoyed it the first time around and am enjoying it the second time, too.

A couple days before Baby was born I started Crocodile on the Sandbank by Elizabeth Peters. It’s the first book in the Amelia Peabody mystery series and I LOVE it so far! Amelia is a feisty, independent young lady adventurer (think Indiana Jones) who travels to Egypt to solve a mystery. A perfect escape!

~Danielle

 

This week I’m reading Jane Austen’s Persuasion because it seems like a delightful thing to do on a spring day. Also, it’s the last of the Jane Austen books I haven’t read, so I felt like the time had come to finally read it. I vaguely remember playing one of the sisters (Elizabeth?) in a modern update video project one of my sisters did for an English class in college. I’m having flashbacks of crawling through bushes on campus to spy on another character, but have yet to get to that part of the book.

~Emily

 

I’m re-reading In the Woods by Tana French for a Book Club Sunday project I’m working on!! [Editor’s Note: I really can’t wait for this!]

~Andrea

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

