On Our Nightstands

On Our Nightstands #15

We’ve all had books on the brain lately, as we had our monthly Book Club Sunday meeting last weekend and some lovely spring days to get plenty of reading in! Here’s what we’ve all been reading this week!

IMG_2267

I just finished Talking as Fast as I Can, and I wished it would never end. I want to be best friends with Lauren Graham. She’s also making me feel like there’s going to be more Gilmore Girls, and if that’s not true, I don’t like that she’s toying with my emotions.

I started listening to The Martian by Andy Weir this morning. Has anyone thought about making this into a movie? They should. I think Ben Affleck would make a good lead. Anyway, I don’t like outer space, but I’m hooked as of chapter 2.

I’m reading Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance. It’s a sociological study on how people use dating apps and online dating. He writes like he talks, which makes it super fun and funny. It’s also really well researched. It’s totally relatable for anyone who has ever attempted to date in this day and age. But I’m flying through this book. I read half of it in one sitting. I would definitely swipe right on Aziz.

~Molly

This week, I finished our next book club book, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, by Mark Haddon. I have lots of thoughts about it, which you can read about in our upcoming Book Blurbs post. Or, if you are a fellow member of Book Club Sunday, I will gladly tell you my thoughts in person at our next meeting.

I’ve just started Still Life, the first book in Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache series, which I’ve been wanting to get into for awhile. I’m enjoying this mystery so far, though I’m only on chapter 2 and the mystery bit has only just begun.

~Emily

I’m almost finished reading Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar. It’s a light read – a college romance that started with a revenge prank, with some feminist tones. Unfortunately, there were no surfers or surf culture in this book, something I really enjoyed in Eagar’s other books, especially Night Beach.

~Andrea

I finished last month’s book club book, The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles, and liked it!

I also started and finished Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris – it was a very quick read – but I can’t say it was one of my top “thriller” reads because I was way too annoyed with one of the main characters (Grace) the whole time.

I really enjoyed the beautiful coffee table book that is Audrey: The 60s by David Wills – lovely full page photographs and quotes about and from Audrey.

And I took advantage of the warm spring afternoons to finish savoring The New Bohemians by Justina Blakeney – who I am obsessed with (she is the founder of The Jungalow – check her out on Instagram)!

Now I can’t decide what to read next! I am totally wanderlusting these days so maybe I’ll pick up one of my mystery books set in Egypt…

~Danielle

This week I’m reading The Wife, the Maid, and the Mistress, by Ariel Lawhon and am loving it so far. Set mostly in 1930, it tells the story of the real-life disappearance of Judge Crater (though the story is a fictionalized account) from the perspective of three of the women in his life. I’m totally hooked and can’t wait to find out how it all turns out.

I’m also listening to The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House, by Kate Andersen Brower. I’ve only made it through the introduction and one chapter so far, but it’s really interesting! Full of personal stories and anecdotes that give a real behind-the-curtain glimpse into the private side of the White House. Did you know the First Family pays for all of their own food?? I had no idea.

~Sarah

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

