Reading Roundups

My TBR List for Spring

IMG_2226

I have fallen prey to TBR overwhelm and in order to combat it, I have decided to pick five books each season from my endless list that I absolutely MUST read during that season. They’re likely the ones I’m most excited about at the time, though that doesn’t necessarily mean they’re new releases. I’ll feel accomplished if I can make it through those five each season and anything else I read in addition to those will be an added bonus!

To me, a Spring book must be a bit light and fun, something to be read while on a picnic. Or, something slightly more atmospheric and twisty to curl up with for those rainy spring days. I tried to keep these ideas in mind while narrowing down my list for this year!

Here is my list for Spring 2017:

41RXQqy5mfL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_  Maybe In Another Life, by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Spring is the perfect time for chick lit and I’ve heard that Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books are “chick lit with substance.” While sometimes I’m in the mood for straight-up fluff, I also like the idea of something with a bit of heart to it.

51Aj6zYd1LL._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_  The Distant Hours, by Kate Morton

Kate Morton’s books are perfect for the rainy Spring days – exactly the right level of twisty and atmospheric and I’m excited to dive into this one (especially because it’s about twin sisters and their younger sister!)

51Dduid30zL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_  Today Will Be Different, by Maria Semple

I enjoyed Where’d You Go, Bernadette? and am looking forward to reading Maria Semple’s latest novel. I’ve seen mixed reviews about it, but people seem to either love it or hate. I hope I’m in the love it camp!

51JZsbD3eGL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_  A Certain Age, by Beatriz Williams 

I’m ashamed to admit I’m behind on my Beatriz Williams reading! I have yet to read her two newest releases and must remedy this immediately.

51Xg26g1znL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_  In Farleigh Field, by Rhys Bowen

I’m a huge fan of Rhys Bowen’s Royal Spyness series and can’t wait to read her new standalone historical fiction!

Bonus pick:

51sosI9uSgL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_  The Wife, the Maid, and the Mistress by Ariel Lawhon

I couldn’t resist adding this one after finding out it was the April selection for the Modern Mrs. Darcy Book Club (I haven’t joined yet, but I know I should!) and reading Top Shelf Text‘s review of it this week. Knowing that both Anne and Madeleine enjoyed it was reason enough to expand my list by one!

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

