On Our Nightstands

On Our Nightstands #13

There must be something in the air this week that is making Book Club Sunday members go into hyper-reading mode! Read on to see what we’ve been reading this week. Let us know in the comments if you have any recommendations for us!

IMG_2172

As a devoted Hamilton fan, I’m determined to read Ron Chernow’s enormous biography of Alexander Hamilton. But I’m also a person who doesn’t want to spend six months getting through one book. So my system for reading it has been to take it out from the library, read as much as I can in three weeks, write down the page number I got to, take it back to the library, and then put myself right back on the list for it. The waitlist is so long that it comes in about every three months, which feels like just enough time between bouts of reading. Anyway, it came at the library this week so I have dived back in and I am not throwing away my shot.

I’m also listening to Julia Child’s memoir, My Life in France. She has such an interesting story and I’m really enjoying it so far!

~Sarah

 

I am in a super-reading mood as of late and it didn’t slow down this weekend and I feel like I’ll continue this pattern until Baby arrives (an excellent and comforting way to stay occupied!).

The highlight of the weekend reads was Bridget Jones’s Baby… because I am obsessively in love with Bridge, good ol’ Jones! And the timing of this read couldn’t have been better for me seeing as how I’m 9 1/2 months pregnant 🙂 Also, I love Helen Fielding and wish she would write a book every year. Please and thank you!

I also took advantage of the lovely spring weather to get comfy on my patio and enjoy the color, wonder, and joy that is Jonathan Adler in his book My Prescription for Anti-Depressive Living. I now want to repaint all my patio furniture, ugh.

And I’ve started listening to (and am about halfway through) The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul by Deborah Rodriguez (alternate title, A Little Cup of Friendship). I’m back in Kabul (like with last month’s book club book, And the Mountains Echoed) only this time it’s a lighter story about an ex-pat who runs a coffee shop in Kabul with her eclectic group of friends.

Ooh, and I can’t wait to start this month’s book club book, The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles!

~Danielle

 

I’ve been reading!

I started listening to The Secret Life of Violet Grant by Beatriz Williams, making this my third copy of this book. I wish I was reading it instead of listening because it switches perspectives and sometimes I’m not paying attention and get confused. I also couldn’t tell what year it was supposed to be. Thank goodness I have two hard copies of the book I could reference so I could read the back and learn that part of it takes place in the 60s and the other part in WWI. There is a character named Lionel Richardson and every time anyone refers to him they call him Lionel Richardson and every time I giggle and imagine Lionel Richie. Particularly during a sentence that started, “In his evening dress, Lionel Richardson…” I’m still imagining Lionel Richie in an evening gown. Anyway, I’m not particularly riveted by the story. And when I read I tend to skip over boring parts, and that’s not an option when you’re listening. So I kind of feel like I’m slogging through. I have 4 days left to listen to it, and I have 4 parts left, so I think I can do it.

I also finished William Daniels’ memoir [There I Go Again: How I Came to Be Mr. Feeny, John Adams, Dr. Craig, KITT, and Many Others] and was disappointed. He was kind of a cranky old coot, and not the magical grandfather I’d hoped him to be. The chapter on Boy Meets World was basically just a transcript of the first and last episodes, which I pretty much already know by heart, so that was annoying. However, his interview with Lin Manuel Miranda is worth the read.

~Molly

 

I just received Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar in the mail. I had to order it all the way from Australia through Book Depository because Kirsty Eagar’s books seem to be impossible to get a hold of here. I loved Raw Blue and Night Beach (obtained possibly through a glitch in Amazon Kindle? who knows, but they are no longer available), and I am excited for this latest read. I feel like the fact that I had to special order it from the other side of the world has really raised my expectations for it. So far, I have only read the packing slip and the back cover. So far, so good!

~Andrea

 

I’m still making my way through Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale, and so far I’m loving it. I’m almost done, and it’s definitely one I want to stay up late reading! The plot also revolves around a complicated and sometimes difficult to understand relationship between identical twin sisters, a topic I happen to know a little something about. It’s hard to find a book that accurately portrays what it’s like to be an identical twin, and this book doesn’t really do that. But it doesn’t make me want to throw it against the wall in an inaccuracy-fueled rage, so I’ll keep reading.

~Emily

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

