On Our Nightstands · Recent Reads

On Our Nightstands #12

Spring fever has hit Book Club Sunday this week, by which I mean several of us have been knocked out by a nasty spring cold! We’ll spend some quality time with cups of tea and plenty of books and be back on our feet in no time. Read on to see what we’ve all been reading this week!

IMG_2136

I’m still working my way through Creativity, Inc., about the inner workings of Pixar. I’m in a section where it’s become a bit more about effectively managing a creative enterprise, which is interesting, but I like the parts that are a behind the scenes looks at Pixar best.

I finished my YA read for the week, The Sun is Also A Star, by Nicola Yoon. I enjoyed this one and will definitely recommend it for teenagers. It was a fun but heartfelt look at one day in the life of a teenage girl whose illegal immigrant family is about to be deported and a boy whose family wants a different path for him than the one he wants for himself, and the impact they have on each other’s futures.

I’ve also come down with a terrible cold and picked up my all-time favorite book, Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott, for some comfort reading in between bouts of sneezing.

~Sarah

 

I, too, am afflicted with plague and pestilence. I’m reading The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley. So far, it’s a fantastic spin on Arthurian legend.

~Hannah

 

I’ve been on a reading spree lately. I think it has something to do with my baby’s due date less than a month away and feeling like I want to squeeze in some last minute solo reading binges!

This week I finished our book club book, And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini (LOVED it, so beautiful), Dear Mr. Potter (don’t let the muggles get you down!), and I listened to Sophia Kinsella’s new book My Not So Perfect Life (I ended up enjoying it! Although it didn’t start out as cute and funny as some of her other’s I’ve really liked).

Now I’m totally ignoring my library TBR stack to listen to a guilty-pleasure… Nancy Drew! Specifically, The Sign of the Twisted Candles. It is, as expected, adorable, comforting, and innocent. Sometimes it’s just what you need to escape the “real world” for a bit.

~Danielle

 

I’d also like to throw my stuffed up nose and wheezy (not to be confused with Weasley) lungs into this week’s What We’re Reading post.

I’ve been reading The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield and loving it so far. It’s a bit heavy for reading when one’s head is stuffed up and one is surrounded by a mountain of Kleenex and Tylenol, so I’m looking forward to feeling better so I can continue reading it. Now Danielle has made me want to break out some old Nancy Drew books to read instead. Perhaps I can convince her to come over to our germ-infested apartment and make us some tea and read us a bedtime story?

~Emily

[Response from Danielle:  I will gladly send the lovely Laura Linney as my proxy to read you Nancy Drew! ]

 

I’ve been re-reading poems from Billy Collins’ Aimless Love collection and they are probably just what I need right now for some life perspective. Short, humorous, poignant. A warm reminder that life is absurd and bittersweet and wonderful.
Feel better everyone!

~Andrea

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

