On Our Nightstands · Recent Reads

On Our Nightstands #11

On Our Nightstands is a weekly roundup of the books we’re actually reading this week. Peruse our list for some what-to-read inspiration and stay tuned for more detailed reviews!

IMG_7612

This week I’m reading Creativity, Inc., by Ed Catmull. The subtitle makes it sound like it’s a business how-to book (Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand In the Way of True Inspiration), but it reads much more like a history of/peek inside Pixar. It’s one I thought I’d maybe skim through a little bit and then send back to the library, but it’s actually fascinating! I was reading it on a train ride this past weekend and I found myself wishing the ride was longer so I could keep reading. (I was disappointed that though my train’s destination was Emeryville, the home of Pixar, there didn’t seem to be any Pixar employees on board who wanted to talk to me about Pixar after seeing my train reading material.)

I’m also listening to The Giver, by Lois Lowry and read by Ron Rifkin. I read this book in sixth grade and remember really liking it, so I wanted to see if it held up 20 years later (20 years?!). And I also wanted to see what it would be like to have Arvin Sloane from Alias reading a book to me.

~Sarah

 

I’ve started our book club book, And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini, and I’m really enjoying it so far – I’m about halfway through and it’s hard for me to put it down! (Shame on you, work). Really looking forward to discussing it at this weekend’s book club meeting.

I’ve also started listening to My Not So Perfect Life by Sophia Kinsella. I usually really enjoy her books but I am not quite as sucked into this story and characters as I normally am – but I’m still in the first several chapters so we’ll see how it turns out!

On Sunday I read two delightful children’s books: Antoinette by Kelly DiPucchio (illustrated by one of my favorite illustrators, Christian Robinson), and Mary Poppins Up, Up and Away by Helene Druvert (lovely laser-cut pages!).

You’ll be happy to know I’ve finished Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk (liked it), Under the Midnight Sun (great read! Make a character chart!), and The Kind Mama.

~Danielle

 

I stayed up way past my bedtime last night finishing Beatriz Williams’ The Wicked City because I just couldn’t put it down! The story is sparkling and captivating and I highly recommend it for escapism reading.

I also finished our book club selection, And the Mountains Echoed, by Khaled Hosseini, and will share my thoughts on that in our post on that book later.

I’m excited to jump into The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield tonight, but hopefully not too excited because I should really be getting more sleep.

~Emily

 

I feel like my addition to this post should be called, “What I’m Not Reading This Week.” Because my Overdrive app was failing me, I have not been reading A Certain Age by Beatriz Williams. I want to! And I’ve been doing so much driving for work this week it would have been perfect. But it wouldn’t download for me, so I have been listening to the Hamilton cast recording instead.

I’m also still plugging along on William Daniels’ memoir [There I Go Again: How I Came to Be Mr. Feeny, John Adams, Dr. Craig, KITT, and Many Others].

~Molly

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

One thought on “On Our Nightstands #11

Leave a Reply

