On Our Nightstands · Recent Reads

On Our Nightstands #10

On Our Nightstands is a weekly roundup of the books we’re actually reading this week. Peruse our list for some what-to-read inspiration and stay tuned for more detailed reviews!

IMG_2093

 

I’m still in the middle of the first book in Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache series, Still Life. I really like it so far. From what I gather, the books in the series all take place in the small town of Three Pines and the residents there are all endearing, which I feel like is going to make finding out which one of them is a murderer all the more shocking!

I’m almost done listening to Jane Steele and I have enjoyed it very much. I do feel like I’ve missed some bits here and there as my mind has wandered, but overall it has definitely kept my interest. It’s a fun read for anyone who likes historical mysteries (even though it’s not exactly a mystery) with a spitfire protagonist!

I also just started The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt for my work project but haven’t read enough to say anything about it yet.

~Sarah

 

I’m still listening to Martin Short’s memoir [I Must Say: My Life As A Humble Comedy Legend]. I’m starting to not hate audiobooks, but I’m curious to know what they’re like when they aren’t read by a celebrity author.

I also started William Daniels’ memoir: There I Go Again: How I Came to be Mr. Feeny, John Adams, Dr. Craig, KITT, and Many Others. Boy Meets World is my favorite show of all time, and I can’t wait to get to the chapter about it. Also included is a transcript of a conversation between William Daniels and Lin Manuel Miranda about the influence 1776 had on Hamilton and this musical theatre fan was delighted.

~Molly

 

I’ve started listening to Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney and I’m enjoying it so far – I hope to be half as cool as Lillian when I’m 80-something!

I’m also *this* close to finishing Under the Midnight Sun… and I am dying to know how this mystery ends. It’s all coming together!

~Danielle

 

I’m nearly finished with The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom. It is distinguished in the fact that it is only the third book that has ever made me cry. If you like historical fiction set in the antebellum South, this is a great book to add to your list.

~Hannah

 

I finally got Beatriz Williams’ The Wicked City back from the library, and I’m so happy to be diving into it again. Fortunately I hadn’t forgotten what I’d already read of it, so I could pick up right where I left off. It makes me wish my apartment was next door to an old timey speakeasy that comes to life at night.

~Emily

 

I finished listening to We Are Okay by Nina LaCour. A short, quiet story about grief with a sweet ending. It was fine, really. It was definitely all right.

I didn’t have the mind space to commit to a novel this week and I am blaming daylight savings time. I am continuing to re-read poems from my T.S. Eliot collection. I also don’t know what to read next, but I am in the mood for something like Marisha Pessl‘s books, if anyone has any suggestions!

~Andrea

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

