On Our Nightstands · Recent Reads

On Our Nightstands #9

On Our Nightstands is a weekly roundup of the books we’re actually reading this week. Peruse our list for some what-to-read inspiration and stay tuned for more detailed reviews!

IMG_7118

I just picked up the first in Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache series, Still Life, and I can’t wait to read it! I’ve heard such good things about it and I’m excited that there are 12 books in the series already so if I love it, I’ll have plenty to read!

I’m still listening to Jane Steele by Lindsay Faye. I really enjoy it so far, except that I missed a crucial-to-the-plot sentence when my phone received a few text messages and was very confused for awhile. Does anyone know how to make your phone alerts not interrupt your Overdrive book??

For my YA book “work research” I finished Sophie Kinsella’s Finding Audrey and just started A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro. Finding Audrey was good – I always like the voices of Sophie Kinsella’s heroines and I thought she tackled the issue of an anxiety disorder well. I’m only a few pages into A Study in Charlotte but so far I love it and I hope it doesn’t let me down! It’s such a fun concept (the great-great-great-grandchildren of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson end up at boarding school together where there is a murder they have to solve) and I’m glad the next in the series is already out.

~Sarah

 

I’ve been listening to (and staying awake during) Martin Short’s memoir [I Must Say: My Life As A Humble Comedy Legend] during my commute. I now have a lot of opinions about audiobooks. I don’t feel like I’m reading. I feel like it’s cheating to call it that. It’s more like I’m listening to someone tell a really long story and I can’t get a word in. Like, every time my co-workers tell a long story, is it like reading their memoir? I suppose it could be. Then I got artistic with it. When I listen to 1989, am I actually reading a collection of Taylor Swift’s poetry? It all depends on how you look at it I guess.

Anyway, the book. I love Martin Short, but so far it hasn’t been as funny has I’d hoped. But I’m not giving up yet.

~Molly

 

This week I’m reading Clinton Kelly’s memoir, I Hate Everyone, Except You. Clinton Kelly was one of the hosts of TLC’s What Not to Wear, and he’s currently one of the hosts of The Chew. His collection of essays is pretty hilarious, and exactly the kind of book I need to be reading at the same time as this month’s book club selection, And the Mountains Echoed, by Khaled Hosseini, which has taken a turn toward the tragic. Sometimes you just really need a book with a hilarious bird on the cover and to read about a sort-of celebrity being scolded by Paula Deen on live TV.

~Emily

 

My update for the week is the same as last week! Not getting through books very quickly these last few weeks…

~Danielle

 

I’m almost finished with listening to the second Veronica Mars book, Mr. Kiss and Tell. It is so good, even with the sleepy sounding narrator!

I started re-reading T.S. Eliot’s The Four Quartets and other poems, including The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock. (That sound you hear is the collective groan of poetry-haters around the world.) I love checking in with my favorite poems — they seem to change meanings over time, and I like experiencing the familiarity of the words and rhythm while realizing I understand something in a different way than I did before.

~Andrea

 

Wishing every  day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

