On Our Nightstands · Reading Roundups · Recent Reads

On Our Nightstands #8

On Our Nightstands is a weekly roundup of the books we’re actually reading this week. Peruse our list for some what-to-read inspiration and stay tuned for more detailed reviews!

img_1992

I started Ballad of the Whiskey Robber: A True Story of Bank Heists, Ice Hockey, Transylvanian Pelt Smuggling, Moonlighting Detectives, and Broken Hearts by Julian Rubinstein. This is not a book I would normally have picked up but after hearing about it on the What Should I Read Next podcast, I immediately requested it from the library. I’m only a couple of chapters in but so far I like it!

I’m also listening to Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye. It’s inspired by Jane Eyre, but isn’t a retelling. So far I really like it, but I’m not far enough along to give a real review.

I may have started (and then abandoned) this month’s book club book, And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini. I wasn’t in the mood for it when I started, so we’ll see whether I pick it back up.

~Sarah

 

Well, I got my first library card since the one my mom wrote my name on. Sarah has been recommending audiobooks to me for ages, particularly the app Overdrive, which syncs to your local library. I started listening to Martin Short’s I Must Say: My Life as a Humble Comedy Legend. I love Martin Short. But after I puttered around the house for a while with my phone in hand, straightening my hair and doing my makeup, I sat on the couch and promptly fell asleep. Maybe audiobooks remind me of a bedtime story? I’ll keep trying.

~Molly

 

I’ve started listening to Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough and am really into it so far! I saw it on a fellow bookstagrammer’s account… and she said she never figured out the ending and I feel like it’ll be the same for me! (And bonus, it’s set in London, aka anywhere but here).

I’m still really into (the really long) Journey Under the Midnight Sun by Keigo Higashino. I enjoy when all storylines are intricately interconnected, especially when they all come together. I’m expecting great things from this one!

And, of course, still finishing all my other current reads 🙂 But that’s what’s great about books… they’re always there waiting for you. Unless they’re due back at the library.

~Danielle

 

I had a book crisis this week that is exactly the problem Danielle mentioned in her update. “[books are] always there waiting for you. Unless they’re due back at the library.” I was happily reading Beatriz Williams’ The Wicked City, and loving it, when I remembered it had to go back to the library. There was a hold on it, so I couldn’t renew it. So I’ve had to remember what page I was on and will get back to reading it when it’s my turn to check it out again.

While I’m waiting, I’ve started reading this month’s book club pick, And the Mountains Echoed, by Khaled Hosseini. I was hesitant to start reading it because it felt like it was going to be intense and heavy and I just wasn’t in the mood for that kind of book. So I decided I would commit to reading 20% (about 80-something pages) and make a decision about whether I wanted to continue. I made it that far and am happy to report I plan to continue reading! I like the way the characters are all interconnected and want to know what happens to them. Fingers crossed it’s nothing horrible.

~Emily

 

To be honest, instead of starting this month’s important and inspiring book club pick, I both started and finished Cat Marnell’s How to Murder Your Life in the span of 3 days. This addiction memoir from a former Conde Naste beauty editor is probably not all that important or inspiring, but it is an easy, if somewhat sad and mildly horrifying, read. It was nice to dive into someone’s glamorous and derelict life, for just a little while.
I started to listening to We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, mostly because it was set in an East Coast college dorm. It is okay.

I also started listening to Mr. Kiss and Tell, the second Veronica Mars book. It’s not narrated by Kristen Bell, which is a bummer, but I already expect to love it as much as the first book.

~Andrea

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

One thought on “On Our Nightstands #8

Leave a Reply

