On Our Nightstands

On Our Nightstands #7

On Our Nightstands is a weekly roundup of the books we’re actually reading this week. Peruse our list for some what-to-read inspiration and stay tuned for more detailed reviews!

img_1961

This week I’ve been listening to the first in a new Veronica Mars series, The Thousand Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas (the creator of the tv show Veronica Mars) and I can’t recommend it enough! The series takes place shortly after the Veronica Mars movie and catches the reader up with everything that has been going on in Neptune. The book reads just like an extended episode of the show and if you want to read it, I must insist that you listen to the audiobook as read by Veronica herself, Kristen Bell. She does a fantastic job with all the voices and her narration feels exactly like the voiceovers from the show. It’s making me find any excuse to be in the car or do housework so I can listen more!

I’m also still reading Passenger by Alexandra Bracken as part of my work-related YA exploration and just started Never Caught by Erica Armstrong Dunbar, which as a non-fiction account of one of George Washington’s escaped slaves, is sure to get me made fun of by my fellow Book Club members.

~Sarah

 

This week I’m reading Beatriz Williams’ The Wicked City and I’m SO excited about it. I’ve loved all the other books I’ve read by this author, and I just want to crawl inside this book and stay there all week. Unfortunately, this book is due back at the library on Thursday, so my trip inside this book may be shorter than I’d like. The book centers around a mysterious 1920s speakeasy and makes me want to use phrases like “the bees knees” and “the cat’s meow.”

I still have Jill Mansell’s Making Your Mind Up on my nightstand, which I will pick up again soon. It’s gotten pushed to the side while I read other things, but I will finish it!

I’m also slowly (like, purposely reading one page at a time) getting through Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda, which is the book that tells the story of the creation of the Broadway musical Hamilton through the lens of each of the songs in the production and it is AMAZING. I’ve been reading it one song at a time in anticipation of seeing the show in San Francisco next month.

~Emily

 

This week I started Under the Midnight Sun by Keigo Higashino – a mystery set in Osaka, Japan – and after two days am almost 200 pages into the story. A man is found murdered in the 70’s, and over time his son and the suspect’s daughter become entangled… I love nothing more than a great mystery (or any type of story) set in an exotic locale (translation: anywhere but here).

I took a break from Tana French’s The Trespasser to finish our last book club book (success!) but am back to listening and I can’t wait to find out how the story unfolds but also reluctant to finish as this is the last in the series and I’ll be waiting years for the next installment. Sigh.

Determined to finish The Kind Mama (I still have the luxury of taking a break from mama/baby things), and also The New Bohemians (it’s something to be savored). Dear Mr. Potter may need to be saved for later – can’t decide if I want to finish it now!

~Danielle

 

I was pretty proud of myself for reading the next chapter of my current read, and it was about the titular Portuguese Irregular Verbs. I didn’t love this chapter. I was hoping they’d all be as funny as the fencing chapter, which made me laugh out loud. But I guess they can’t all be winners.

~Molly

 

I didn’t finish The Tenant of Wildfell Hall in time for Book Club Sunday (shocked gasps) and I am now debating if I should continue it. According to my fellow members who finished it, I was completely mistaken regarding what the story would be. (I had it all mapped out: Helen either leaves Mr. Huntingdon because he is the worst, or she somehow assists in his demise (not murder per se, but maybe he gets really ill and she takes her time getting him help, but by then it’s too late) and that is why she is living at Wildfell Hall like a hermit. She meets Gilbert and they fall in love, but she feels guilty about leaving/helping kill Mr. Huntingdon. However, she learns to let the past go and lives a boho artist’s life with Gilbert, where they eschew the stifling morals of society. Gilbert learns to stop being so dramatic.) It seems this is not what happens, so I don’t know that I want to keep reading. I kind of liked my story better.

On Sarah’s recommendation, I started listening to The Thousand Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas and it is SO GOOD.

~Andrea

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

