On Our Nightstands · Reading Roundups · Recent Reads

On Our Nightstands #6

On Our Nightstands is a weekly roundup of the books we’re actually reading this week. Peruse our list for some what-to-read inspiration and stay tuned for more detailed reviews!

img_6788

I’m finally reading The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte, our book club pick for this month. Fingers crossed I can finish it by Sunday! I really like it so far – the story is not what I expected, and I’m pretty invested in the characters. In an effort to be a successful member of Book Club, I will take the rest of the week off work so I can curl up on my couch and read this book all day until I finish.   ~Emily

This week I’m reading The Last Days of Night by Graham Moore. I was skeptical at first, wondering how a book about Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse’s battle over the invention of the light bulb could possibly be as page turning as all the reviews claimed. Turns out, it is totally living up to the hype so far and I can’t put it down!

I’m normally strictly a one-book-at-a-time gal (unless I’m listening to a book and physically reading another), but this week I’ve broken my usual rule for what I call “research.” (Miranda Hart, anyone?) For my job, I’ve been working on compiling a list of books to recommend for high school students, especially those who don’t like to read, so I raided the YA section at the library. This week I finished We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (very twisty and emotional – one of those books that left me with that weird feeling where it’s hard to transition back to the real world after the book is over) and just started Passenger by Alexandra Bracken   ~Sarah

I’m still reading The Tenant of Wildfell Hall and trying to finish it before our meeting this weekend! It’s now being narrated by “the Tenant,” and I’m enjoying the shift in perspective.    ~Andrea
My update this week is so boring because I’m reading/listening to the exact same books! I promise to finish at least three of them this weekend (including our book club book)!
The Club Dumas by Arturo Perez-Reverte
The Trespasser by Tana French
The Kind Mama by Alicia Silverstone
~Danielle
I have read no more of The Portuguese Hedgehog (ed. note: Portuguese Irregular Verbs by Alexander McCall Smith) than I had last time I checked in, though I was loving it. Nor have I started The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, though I am planning to start it tonight. I have had my nose buried in boring work related articles.   ~Molly
 Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!
One thought on “On Our Nightstands #6

Leave a Reply

