On Our Nightstands · Recent Reads

On Our Nightstands

On Our Nightstands is a weekly roundup of the books we’re actually reading this week. Peruse our list for some what-to-read inspiration and stay tuned for more detailed reviews!

img_6725

I am still reading both Making Your Mind Up by Jill Mansell and Commonwealth by Ann Patchett. Mostly I wish I was finished with both of them and was reading The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, this month’s Book Club pick, instead. Reading two books at once gives me anxiety. I can never decide which one to devote my attention to, and I feel like it takes me even longer to read when I have two books going at once. I realize this rant is not the purpose of this post, but I don’t have anything else to contribute since my books are exactly the same as last week.

~Emily

 

I have been eagerly anticipating the release of the second book in the Veronica Speedwell series, A Perilous Undertaking by Deanna Raybourn. I loved the first one, A Curious Beginning, (I wrote about it here) and so far the follow up is not disappointing! Veronica is as spunky and intrepid as ever, and I am very much enjoying following along on her adventures.

~Sarah

 

I have been reading the book club pick, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. Well, full disclosure, it was my pick this month. I inexplicably keep calling it The Ghost of Winterfell Hall, which I feel like somewhere out there is probably the title of a very popular Bronte/Game of Thrones fan fiction story. I really love it so far! I like how modern it feels and the social commentary is sharp and still relevant. I’m pretty sure I read an old fashioned “more like… am I right?!” joke last night. I also find Gilbert, the narrator, to be hilariously emo.

~Andrea

 
Well, let’s see… This weekly post is reminding me I need to finish some books as I’ve been reading them for weekssss! In any case, here’s what I’m (still) reading:

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte: enjoying our book club pick so far and am really curious to find out what happens… let the speed reading commence (must. finish. before. book club meeting.)

The Club Dumas by Arturo Perez-Reverte: probably more of a “Fall” book, but with all this rainy weather we’re having, I don’t mind breaking my own rules! This is a really cozy, mysterious, bookish tale set in Spain, featuring a “book detective” and murder. Yes, please!

The Trespasser by Tana French: I’m listening to this next installment of Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad. It’s bittersweet because I’m sure I’ll be waiting a couple years for the next book. So far I’m hooked!

The Kind Mama by Alicia Silverstone: a nice read as I prepare for baby – some really helpful tips about these last few months of pregnancy and bringing baby home.

And it doesn’t mean I’m not interested in finishing these (quite the contrary), but I’m still enjoying Dear Mr. Potter and The New Bohemians!

~Danielle

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

