Uncategorized

Get To Know Your Book Clubbers: Molly

Man oh man. Whoever wrote these questions really had it out for me. These are hard. Not unlike sharing a small lifeboat with a tiger or reading all 1,019 pages of The Pillars of the Earth. But, as I tell myself in book club every month, all I can do is my best. Here we go.

img_1177

  1. Describe yourself in 3 books

Please note that this says 3 books, not 3 characters. Also note that that note is more for me than for you. I must also remind myself that I’m describing myself and not listing my favorite books. Ok enough sidenotes.

  1. Let’s start with an easy one. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. I am the youngest of three girls, not unlike Amy by the end of this novel (Too soon? Sorry, Beth fans). The March sisters are super close and totally silly when they’re together but that doesn’t take away from their personal ambitions, care for others, and devotion to their family. And if that doesn’t describe my sisterly relationship I don’t know what does. And despite what another book clubber might tell you, I’m totally Jo.
  2. Is it Just Me? by Miranda Hart. Miranda is my favorite show, second only to Boy Meets World and I have never felt so akin to another person as I do Miranda. I’ll let her speak for herself: “Is it just me or does anyone else find that adulthood offers little to no refuge from the unexpected horrors, particular lack of physical coordination and sometimes unexplained nudity that accompanied childhood and adolescence? Does everybody struggle with the hazards of, say, sitting elegantly on a bar stool; using chopsticks; pretending to understand the bank crisis; pedicures – surely it’s plain wrong for a stranger to fondle your feet? Or, is it just me? Because frankly where is the manual? Well fret not, for this is my attempt at one and let’s call it, because it’s fun, a Miran-ual.” Make yourself a cup of tea and a biscuit and enjoy.
  3. Ugh these last two have taken a lot out of me. I’ll keep it short. Perhaps The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets by Eva Rice (daughter of Tim) doesn’t accurately describe my life but it describes a life I’d like, and the numerous comments and descriptions about the girls’ heights certainly helped me embrace my own.

 

  1. Favorite reading spot

If I can’t be curled up in a cozy chair overlooking a view of Bodega Bay, I’d have to go with my bed.

 

  1. If you could only save one book or bookish item in a fire, what would it be?

Can I strap my built-in bookshelf to my back? No? Then Yes Man by Danny Wallace. It’s my go-to and will certainly lift my spirits while I watch my apartment go up in flames.

 

  1. Book character you most admire

Good question. Neville Longbottom of Harry Potter fame? Now there’s a Cinderella story we can all get behind. A wise man once told me (well not me personally…) “There are all kinds of courage. It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.” Cut to Order of the Phoenix. While Harry is busy not practicing occlumency and whining and complaining and angsting about Dumbledore not talking to him, the Nevster, who could just as easily have been the Chosen One, keeps his head down and studies his butt off to become the super awesome wizard we see in the battle of Hogwarts. “In one swift, fluid motion, Neville broke free of the body-bind curse upon him; the flaming hat fell off him and he drew from its depths something silver, with a glittering, rubied handle” and lobs Nagini’s head off with the freaking Sword of Gryffindor! I mean, 10 points to Gryffindor, am I right??

 

  1. Fictional book setting where you’d most like to live

I always wanted to live in Stonybrook, Connecticut and run a babysitting company a la Ann M. Martin’s Babysitter’s Club series.

 

  1. Are you a one-book-at-a-time kind of gal? Or a juggling-multiple-books kind of gal?

One at a time.

 

  1. Childhood favorite that still holds up

As my fellow book club members will attest, I’m a Dickens fan. And I credit the Great Illustrated Classics version of Great Expectations I read as a child. Never have I been so affected by a book as I was when I turned the page to see a drawing of a terrified Miss Havisham running straight at me, wedding dress ablaze. It was the stuff of nightmares, but I was hooked.

 

  1. Best book-to-movie adaptation

The Perks of Being a Wallflower [book by Stephen Chbosky], hands down. It’s perfect.

 

  1. Next up on your TBR

I’m currently reevaluating my reading priorities and will let you know in our next reading roundup.

 

  1. Favorite book you had to read for school

So many. Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. Patsy and the Declaration by Elizabeth Massie. Just kidding about that last one. It wasn’t required.

 
Well, we made it to the end. I feel like I’m leaving out a lot of obvious titles and characters here, but I’m sure there will be plenty of opportunities to get things right.

One thought on “Get To Know Your Book Clubbers: Molly

Leave a Reply

