On Our Nightstands · Reading Roundups · Recent Reads

On Our Nightstands #4

On Our Nightstands is a weekly roundup of the books we’re actually reading this week. Peruse our list for some what-to-read inspiration and stay tuned for more detailed reviews!

fullsizerender-1

I just finished The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan and it was such a delight! A fictionalized version of the story of Price William and Kate Middleton, it left me with a smile on my face and a deep-seated need to know whether Kate wears extensions in her perfect princess hair.

After The Royal We, I felt like reading a “serious” book and The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead arrived at the library just when I needed a new book. It is most definitely serious. I am intrigued by the premise of the Underground Railroad imagined as a real railroad, but the (obviously) horrific circumstances portrayed in the book make it emotionally draining to read.

~Sarah

 
I’m listening to In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware and I LOVE IT. She also wrote one of my favorite books of 2016, The Woman in Cabin 10. I HIGHLY recommend both. Her stories seem simple, but subtly make your skin crawl (as only the best thrillers can do), and are set in unique locales.

I definitely plan to start this month’s book club pick (The Tenant of Wildfell Hall) this weekend (to hopefully avoid last minute speed reading the morning of our meeting).

This week I read and/or finished:
-and LOVED The Plantiful Table by Andrea Duclos (I want to make EVERYTHING – also, I’ve long followed her on Instagram @ohdeardrea).
Overseas by Beatriz Williams: 2.5 stars (overly sappy – beware)
The Happy Lion by Louise Fatio: 5 stars
The Year of the Dog by Grace Lin: 3 stars

And I’m still savoring The New Bohemians: Cool and Collected Homes by Justina Blakeney (obsessed with her Instagram @thejungalow), and Dear Mr. Potter: Letters of Love, Loss, and Magic.

~Danielle

I’m usually a strictly one-book-at-a-time gal, but sometimes my reading plans are dashed by the whims of the Sacramento Public Library. Which is how I’ve found myself reading two books this week, neither of which is The Tenant of Wildfell Hall that I definitely intend to read eventually.

First up, I’m reading Making Your Mind Up by Jill Mansell, which I started reading on a flight home from Orlando. I love Jill Mansell’s delightful and whimsical reads. The pages fly by, the characters are charming and endearing, and there’s never any sort of gloom or doom. Exactly the type of book to read on an airplane when flying isn’t really your jam.

I’m also reading Commonwealth by Ann Patchett. I’m still near the beginning, but so far I’m enjoying learning about the intertwined families in this book as the story weaves back and forth in time (in a kind of This Is Us sort of way).

~Emily

I’m reading Portuguese Irregular Verbs by Alexander McCall Smith. I’m loving it. I laughed out loud at the chapter about fencing. My only problem with this book is that I keep wanting to call it The Elegance of the Hedgehog, an entirely different book, but there is a hedgehog on the cover.

~Molly

We assume that the remaining members of Book Club Sunday are wrapped up in this month’s book club selection, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte.

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

