On Our Nightstands · Reading Roundups

On Our Nightstands #3

fullsizerender-1

On Our Nightstands is a weekly roundup of the books we’re actually reading this week. Peruse our list for some what-to-read inspiration and stay tuned for more detailed reviews!

 

I’m reading the eighth book in the Lady Emily series, Behind the Shattered Glass. I’m a few books behind in this series and am enjoying this installment so far. The weather has been perfect for a not-so-scary murder mystery!

~Sarah

 

I’m re-reading Daphne DuMaurier’s Rebecca this week. This book was required reading for me in high school, and I was amazed by how much I loved it. It’s unsuspectingly eerie and the big plot twist blew me away the first time I read it. Even though with this re-read, I already know the big twist, I can still feel the suspense building and I find myself wanting to shout things at the main character the way people do during horror movies.

~Emily

 

I just finished Tana French’s The Trespasser and will probably be thinking about it for the next couple of weeks. I feel sad that it’s over.

I started Big Little Lies on audio, which is always hit or miss for me and involves a lot of replaying. I already lost my place and mixed up a couple of characters, but I am enjoying the humor so far. We will see how it goes!

I also now want to re-read Rebecca.

~Andrea

I finished The Visitors – another mystery set in Scotland (I’ve been all over Scotland lately!), more specifically, an island on the Scottish coast. There’s mystery, folklore, and colorful characters… and it was a quick, easy read, perfect for these cold winter days.

I’m listening to The Secret Place by Tana French (who I absolutely LOVE). The audio versions of her book are perfect and I’m already wrapped up in this latest mystery. I’m not yet captivated by the detectives but I’m only a couple chapters in… can’t wait to see how this story unfolds!

I’m savoring The New Bohemians, a beautiful book by Justina Blakeney (I want to be her… and I want her hair!) and is full of inspiration. It may lead me to spend all my money on furniture, paint, and home decor. But that’s nothing new! 🙂

I’m still enjoying Dear Mr. Potter (I need a nice rainy, plans-free day to finish!).

Ooh and I also read Classic Penguin: Cover to Cover which was full of one my favorite things – Penguin book cover art. Talk about wanting to buy books, books, and more books…

~Danielle

 

Well, I opened The Museum of Extraordinary Things (The book, not an actual museum) and I read the first page. Well actually I read the quote before the first page and it was a little deep and scared me off from starting the book. But I’m determined

I was given The Best of Miranda for Christmas, which is a collection of annotated scripts and stories from the set of the sitcom Miranda, and I’ve been reading bits and pieces of that.

~Molly

 
[Editor’s Note] This week, Jill’s mom, a librarian, informed Jill that she has no renewals left of The Fever at the library and therefore she must finish it. I assume the reason she did not contribute to this post is that she is frantically trying to finish The Fever before the library police come after it.

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

Leave a Reply

