Book Blurbs · Book Club Pick

Book Blurbs: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared

img_5682

Book Club Sunday’s latest read was Jonas Jonasson’s The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, or, as it’s known by its simple and memorable acronym, THYOMWCOOTWAD. Kidding. For sure no one calls it that.

The title of this book describes the plot so well that you hardly need to read a summary to get an idea of what it’s about. On Allan Karlsson’s 100th birthday, he climbs out of a window of the nursing home where he lives, and he disappears. Adventure ensues! Woven into the tale of the calamity and escapades that follow Allan’s escape are stories of Allan’s early life and the roles he played in many key historical events of the preceding century.

Read on to see what Book Club Sunday members thought of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared.

 

“I was so disappointed in myself for not reading much of The 100 Year Old Man. I had such high hopes. I thought it was pretty funny, which is usually all I need in a book, but I just wasn’t hooked enough to keep going. It made my interpretive dance at the December meeting really short. Every year my New Year’s Resolution is to read the book club books. We’ll see how this year goes. (Note to other members: pick better books…)”

~Molly, didn’t finish the book (despite being the member of Book Club Sunday who selected it this month)

 

“I wanted to like this book. I got 100 pages in (that would be one page for every year of Allan Karlsson’s life) and just couldn’t finish. If I learned anything from the first 100 pages of this book, it’s that there is plenty of adventure out there in life just waiting for you and I couldn’t spend more of that valuable adventuring time reading a book I had sort of a ho-hum feeling about. This book felt full of promise and frivolity, but it just didn’t hold my attention. Perhaps there was something lost in translation?”

~Emily, read the first 100 pages

 

“The Hundred-Year-Old Man was a lovely, light-hearted tale about well, a hundred-year-old man who skipped his own birthday party and ended up in yet another adventure. The book went back and forth between his past and present adventures (what a life!). Allan reminded me so much of the hilariously awkward Professor Dr. Moritz-Maria von Igelfeld (from Alexander McCall Smith’s hysterical ‘Portuguese Irregular Verbs’ series). I enjoyed seeing him get into and subsequently out of trouble, time and time again. The colorful characters that surrounded Allan were friendly and funny. Overall I’d recommend this read!”

~Danielle, read the whole book

 

I had every intention of reading this book. (Note: New Year’s Resolution to be better about reading Book Club books!) However, I picked it up from the library at the same time as Tana French’s In The Woods and became so deeply invested in that instead that all other reading fell by the wayside. Or, out the window, if you will. But if anyone would like to discuss In The Woods, I think I still haven’t emotionally recovered.

~Sarah, intended to read the book, but didn’t

 

I didn’t read this book. It seemed whimsical, and I prefer books that are morose and brooding, especially around this time of year. But I also have a resolution to read more book club picks this year, regardless of whimsicality!

~Andrea, didn’t read the book

 
The remaining members of Book Club Sunday also didn’t read the book, but were enthusiastic participants in our annual holiday gift exchange, which is really what being in a book club is about anyway. Perhaps 2017 will be the year all Book Club Sunday members read all of the books! (It won’t be.)

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday!

 

2 thoughts on “Book Blurbs: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared

Leave a Reply

