Book Blurbs · Book Club Pick

Book Blurbs: The Beekeeper’s Apprentice

Book Blurbs is a monthly peek into our book club meetings, where we share our random thoughts or opinions on the book we selected for the month. Some months most of us have read the book, others no one made it all the way through. But either way, we’ll give you a quick review, some first impressions, a reason we couldn’t finish, or any general bookish thoughts about our current read.

img_4035

For our September read, we chose The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King. It’s the first book in the Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series. There are at least 14 books in this series at the time of the writing of this post, so looks like you’re already super behind.

In the book, fifteen-year-old Mary Russell meets a retired Sherlock Holmes (he’s taken up beekeeping for sport) who takes her under his wing and reluctantly agrees to mentor her in the ways of deduction and general mystery solving.

Read on to see what Book Clubbers thought of The Beekeeper’s Apprentice!

Based on Mary’s first encounter with Sherlock, I had such high hopes for the book. Their dialogue was sharp, the writing smart. I got stuck midway through the book, however, and never regained steam. I can’t decide exactly where the book went wrong, but in the years to come, I’m sure I’ll decide that it was in no small part due to Mary’s constant projection and reflection on her relationship with Sherlock 😉 (Also, I got bored.)

~Hannah, read half the book

I’m about halfway through and I like it so far but I also don’t feel compelled to finish it.

~Andrea, read half the book

As a 6 foot tall woman, I really appreciated the height and shoe size of the main character. However, I didn’t get much farther than that description.

~Molly, read the first basic description of the main character

I listened to the entire thing on audiobook and could not even begin to tell you what it was about. I highly recommend NOT listening to it.

~Sarah, listened to the whole audiobook

I really enjoyed the thoughtful relationship and mutual admiration (at times charmingly begrudging) between Sherlock and Mary – I found these observations a bit more interesting than the mysteries afoot (that is, until the grand finale). For those that enjoy having loose ends wrapped up, the ending will not disappoint.

~Danielle, read the whole book

I really wanted to like this book. I didn’t like that it felt like a bunch of little mysteries that were solved by the end of the chapter instead of one book-long mystery. I hear from Danielle’s review that it all ties together in the end, but I didn’t get that far.

~Emily, read half the book

Does this book take place in the current century? No? Then I don’t want to read it.

~Jill, didn’t read it

 

Wishing every day were Book Club Sunday,

Book Club

One thought on “Book Blurbs: The Beekeeper’s Apprentice

Leave a Reply

